Powerful and expressive playing from Calum Stewart on 'Tales from the North'

Tales from the North is the much-anticipated new album from leading uilleann piper Calum Stewart. Inspired by his upbringing in Garmouth in the North of Scotland, the new album celebrates the legends, landscapes, adventures and people that all played an integral part in his childhood.

Calum’s lyrical playing style has long been rooted in the traditional music of the North of Scotland, he talks about the inspiration behind Tales from the North: “My native North of Scotland is a land rich in history and legend; antiquity deeply rooted within the bold landscape. This album really focuses on the stories, legends and places of home that ring in my identity and my compositional style. It is really special to be able to epitomise this inspiration in an album and give a musical voice to the previously silent legends, tales and places that have formed my identity, both musically and personally.”

His first solo album to feature primarily his own compositions, Tales from the North is a true reflection of Calum’s powerful and expressive style of playing. Although Calum is a Scottish musician playing what is usually considered to be an Irish instrument, there is no question that this is an album with strong Scottish influences rooted in the legends of Scotland’s history.

Our sample track is called 'Lassess of Stewarton' and features a Kathryn Tickell composition called, 'Tailgating the Minister' followed by the traditional tunes 'The Lasses of Stewarton' and 'Loch Earn'.  

In addition to Calum there is an inter-celtic guest list of musicians who perform on Tales from the North: Éamon Doorley (Bouzouki) and Tony Byrne (Guitar) are both renowned Irish players who perform with Danú and the Julie Fowlis band. Ronan Pellen (Cittern), Yann Le Bozec (double bass) and Gilles Le Bigot (Guitar) are all from Brittany and undoubtedly some of the best musicians on the Breton music scene.

Lauren MacColl and James Alexander (fiddle) are both natives to the area within the North of Scotland that holds the album’s inspiration. Both musicians are iconic figures within Scottish music - Lauren as a player and James as a player and promoter of music in the Moray region of Scotland. Ross Saunders (Mànran) also hails from central Scotland and alongside recording the percussion Ross has also mixed the album.

All of these talents come together to create a 10 track album recorded throughout the summer of 2017; inspired by one man’s love of the rich history of his native land, alongside his love for traditional music in all forms.

Calum is in high demand as both a concert and recording artist; with recent work including recording with the London Philharmonic Orchestra at Abbey Road studios for composers Thomas Newman and Howard Shore, as well as collaborations with Nitin Sawhney and recently Scottish singer Julie Fowlis, having been part of her live band for the last three years.

Tales from the North can now be purchased from www.calum-stewart.com and it is also available as a free download for radio broadcasters via our Download Centre here on Tradconnect. Contact us for details if you are not already a member.


Tales from the North Track Listing:

1. Am Monadh Ruadh

2. The Angel’s Share

3. The Bell of Ardclach

4. Randolph’s Leap (Part 1)

5. Randolph’s Leap (Part 2)

6. Am Fear Liath Mòr

7. The Seven Men of Glen Morison

8. Sueno’s Stone

9. Music O’Spey

10.Lasses of Stewarton

2018 UK Tour Dates will be announced in November 2017


For more information on Calum please go to www.calum-stewart.com


For interviews, sessions and further information please contact Hannah Innes on 07790 813 712 or hannah@hannahinnes.co.uk


Views: 414

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of TradConnect to add comments!

Join TradConnect

© 2021   Created by Tradconnect Reviews.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

The title of your home page You could put your verification ID in a comment Or, in its own meta tag Or, as one of your keywords Your content is here. The verification ID will NOT be detected if you put it here. .slick-track { display: flex!important; justify-content: center; align-items: center;/* Safari */ display: -webkit-flex!important; -webkit-justify-content:center; -webkit-align-items: center; }