Finbar Furey announces new record deal, album and tour

Irish folk legend Finbar Furey has announced the UK release of his new album ‘Don’t Stop This Now’ as March 30th 2018 on BMG UK. The album was originally released in Ireland as ‘Paddy Dear’, and has been repackaged for the UK to include new tracks and a DVD live concert filmed at Vicar St, Dublin in May 2017, where Finbar performs classic hits such as ‘When You Were Sweet Sixteen’, ‘The Lonesome Boatman’ and ‘The Green Fields of France’.

Multi-instrumentalist, composer, songwriter, storyteller and actor, Finbar is celebrated around the world as one of the great folk icons, Finbar’s playing was recognised by John Peel when in 1972, he and his brother Eddie were awarded Single of The Year for the original sound of the pipes and the whistles. At the forefront of musical change, Finbar’s successful career and extensive touring introduced a whole new audience to his music and instruments, and he advocated for changes to allow pipes to become more accessible to young musicians.

Finbar is a supreme storyteller and the songs, which are close to his heart, were inspired byhis love of his native Ireland. New songs featuring on the UK release include the title track ‘Don’t Stop This Now’, ‘Annabelle’, a track written by Finbar in 1994, “Old Annabelle was a friend of my mothers. I’d often be with them as they’d share a bar of chocolate sitting on the
roadside in Dublin in the 50s”, the eastern groove sounding ‘Co-Exist,’ and bluesy number ‘Hail, Rain Or Snow’. In ‘Sweet Liberty of Life’ Finbar sings about freedom and peace, “Liberty, life and freedom are words that capture the true spirit of humankind in every imaginable way – even in today’s global and tangled democracies”. ‘We Built a Home’ is the tragic story of a Famine family, and ‘I Remember You Singing This Song Ma’ is a classic Finbar love song.

Finbar wrote all the songs on the album, apart from one; the traditional Irish folk song ‘The Galway Shawl’. On ‘The Taxi’s Waiting’ and ‘Hail Rain Or Snow’ his daughter Áine, who he clearly loves singing with, joins him on vocals. A versatile and multi-talented artist, Finbar also plays pipes, whistles, banjo and guitar. The album is co-produced with Peter Eades.
‘Don’t Stop This Now’ follows on from his successful albums, The Slender Promise 2015, an instrumental CD of pipes & flute, and 2013’s ‘Colours’ which reached Number 1 in Ireland with the beautiful ‘Last Great Love Song’. In 2014 Finbar was honoured by the City of Dublin, Lord Mayor Christy Burke praising him for “Bringing life and laughter to many
homes in Ireland”.

Finbar will be hitting the road in the UK and Ireland. Dates below the track listing;

Track Listing


  1. Sweet Liberty Of Life (4.10)
  2. Don't Stop This Now (3.41)
  3. Annabelle (4.11)
  4. We Built A Home (3.22)
  5. The Galway Shawl (4.30)
  6. Sarah Waits (4.25)
  7. Co-Exist (5.18)
  8. The Taxi's Waiting (3.05) with Áine Furey
  9. Hail, Rain Or Snow (3.39) with Áine Furey
  10. Michael Power (3.53)
  11. Paddy Dear (4.08)
  12. I Was Further Than I Thought I Was (4.06)
  13. I Remember You Singing This Song Ma (2.51)
  14. Lament For John (2.59)


1) The Lonesome Boatman (5.19)

2) After Sunday Mass (5.47)

3) We Built A Home (4.32)

4) Michael Power (4.14)

5) Dan O’Hara (4.41)

6) The Ballad for George Best (6.6)

7) Living in Ballyfermot - Story (2.17)

8) The Old Man (4.51)

9) The Taxi’s Waiting with Áine Furey (5.44)

10) Fur Coat - Story (5.59)

11) I Was Further Than I Thought I Was (4.48)

12) The Green Fields of France (7.46)

13) When You Were Sweet Sixteen (6.0)

14) Sweet Liberty of Life (5.15)

Tour dates 2018:

10 Feb Belfast Ulster Hall

15 Feb Dublin Vicar Street

16 March Kilkenny St. Canices Cathedral

2 April Liverpool St George's Hall

3 April Birmingham Glee Club

5 April Glasgow Old Fruit Market

7 April Manchester Dancehouse

9 April London Islington Assembly Hall

10 May Dublin Vicar Street

11 May Wexford Opera House

12 May Galway Black Box

24 May Kilarney INEC

25 May Limerick University Concert Hall

2 June Castlebar Royal Theatre

3 June Cork Everyman Theatre

7 June Derry Millennium Forum

8 June Belfast Ulster Hall


For press & online enquires contact Christine Sheridan

+353 (0) 86 8977798 or Suzanne Doyle +353 (0) 87 8513625

Views: 452

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of TradConnect to add comments!

Join TradConnect

© 2020   Created by Tradconnect Reviews.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

The title of your home page You could put your verification ID in a comment Or, in its own meta tag Or, as one of your keywords Your content is here. The verification ID will NOT be detected if you put it here. .slick-track { display: flex!important; justify-content: center; align-items: center;/* Safari */ display: -webkit-flex!important; -webkit-justify-content:center; -webkit-align-items: center; }