'Here To Play' with Bernadette Nic Gabhann - Inspiring fiddle music from Co.Meath

Here To Play’ is the debut album release from Bernadette Nic Gabhann. Born into a musical family in Ashbourne, Co. Meath Ireland, Bernadette learned to play fiddle from her father Antóin, a well known Co. Cavan fiddle player. Her mother's dancing side of the family hail from Co. Clare. She participated in Fleadhanna Cheoil throughout her youth as a member of Trim Comhaltas which provided the foundation to a life in music that has brought her across the globe promoting Irish Arts.

As Fiddle player with Michael Flatley’s Lord of the Dance, Bernadette toured through North America and Canada, and  performed in Alaska and South Korea. She was also fiddle player with Gaelforce Dance who toured Eastern Europe and Taiwan , and she also spent a summer with Irish Thunder, a dance show based in Busch Gardens theme Park in Williamsburg, Virginia USA.

Our sample track from Here To Play, is track 2 featuring the jigs Jacksons Mistake and Rós Baltrasna. Regarding the tunes Bernadette says: “The first is from the Greer Manuscript, one of the many tunes of Piper Jackson. Rós Baltrasna was composed by my Dad when when I was Rós Fódhla, taking part in The Rose of Tralee.”

At her home in Meath, RTE Radio 1 broadcast Céilí House live on the first Saturday of the year for the past 20+ years. Bernadette presented an episode of Geantraí for TG4 from The Becks, a bar north of Ashbourne. This was during a time of a weekly session with Joe Ryan and Roger Sherlock RIP.

In 2009, she recorded ‘Home Away from Home’ with the acclaimed transatlantic group ‘NicGaviskey’. Bernadette enjoys playing with her many American musical friends across the pond, and has spent time in St Louis in recent summers. It was during summer 2016 that she sat down with harpist and friend Eileen Gannon, and recorded most of this album.

The Track list is as follows…

  1. Reels – The Boyne Hunt, The Boyne Mist, Travers ;
  2. Jigs – Jacksons Mistake, RósBaltrasna ;
  3. Reels - Flowers of Redhill, The Flax in Bloom, The Wind that shakes the Barley ;
  4. Jigs - Nancy’s Party, Two Sisters, Westering Home ;
  5. Air - Cois Abhainn na Séad ;
  6. Reels – The Enchanted Lady, Eddie Moloney's, The Kilcoon ;
  7. Waltz - The Scan Waltz ;
  8. Reels –The Piper's Despair, The Glountane, Gormans ;
  9. Hornpipe – McCollam’s, Hogans Path ;
  10. Reels –The Ivy Leaf, The Mountplummers are Coming ;
  11. O’Carolan - Miss Murphy ;
  12. Reels – The Glass of Beer, Paddy O’Briens, Farewell to Ireland ;
  13. Reel - The Graf Spey – (Duet with Antóin Mac Gabhann) .

Bernadette now lives in Dublin where she teaches and performs at various events.

The album can now be purchased from www.irishfiddlemusic.com and can be downloaded from CDBaby.com

The album is also available as a free download for Irish Radio Broadcasters that are members of our Download Centre here on Tradconnect. Contact us for details.

Views: 855

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of TradConnect to add comments!

Join TradConnect

Comment by Mark B Roberts on April 16, 2018 at 6:48

I've been enjoying this album.  The track 10 tune, "The Ivy Leaf" is a very nice rendition of the "The White Leaf".  Love the setting.  On the same track is the spirited "The Mountplummers are coming", a Connie O'Connell original composition.  Still looking for my liner notes to see what else there is to find out about this CD.  Thanks Bernadette.

© 2022   Created by Tradconnect Reviews.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

The title of your home page You could put your verification ID in a comment Or, in its own meta tag Or, as one of your keywords Your content is here. The verification ID will NOT be detected if you put it here. .slick-track { display: flex!important; justify-content: center; align-items: center;/* Safari */ display: -webkit-flex!important; -webkit-justify-content:center; -webkit-align-items: center; }