Notes from the Road : Martin Hayes & Dennis Cahill - Tour dates, The Gloaming, Yo-Yo Ma and more...

NYC concert now Sunday, April 17th.

Martin and Dennis's New York City date is now Sunday, April 17th at the Highline Ballroom. Click here for tix and  info: Highline Ballroom. And please tell your friends!

The guys got a great review at the Savannah Music Festival last month: "I couldn't remember a concert since the late Paco de Lucia performed at the Savannah Music Festival in 2012 where I felt so enveloped in the consuming presence and pure genius..." Read more.

 

​SPRING TOUR:

 

Fri April 17: New York. Highline Ballroom, New York City.www.highlineballroom.com

Fri. April 22: New Jersey. Monmouth University, West Long Branch.https://www.monmouth.edu/arts

Sat. April 23: New York. St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Red Hook (upstate).www.studioredhook.com

Fri. May 27: N. Carolina. Diana Wortham Theater, Asheville.http://www.dwtheatre.com

Sat. May 28: Illinois. Old Town School of Folk Music, Chicago.https://www.oldtownschool.org/

Sun. May 29: Minnesota. The Cedar Cultural Center, Minneapolis.http://thecedar.org

 

With THE GLOAMING:

Sat. June 4: Washington DC. Kennedy Center. http://www.kennedy-center.org/festivals/ireland/

NEW CD with THE GLOAMING

Watch Video: "The Making of The Gloaming 2"

 

The Gloaming's new CD is out now! The Gloaming 2 includes "Casadh an tSúgáin" which Iarla sings in the new film "Brooklyn." The group's critically-acclaimed debut landed on best of lists including NPR, The Irish Times, and The Guardian, and won Ireland's Meteor Choice Music Prize (the Irish "Grammy") and a BBC Radio 2 Folk Award. Fiddler Martin Hayes, guitarist Dennis Cahill, sean-nós singer Iarla Ó Lionáird, hardanger innovator Caoimhin Ó Raghallaigh and NYC indie pianist Thomas Bartlett (aka Doveman) are fusing and transforming traditions, re-defining what Irish music can be.

 

Listen/purchase:iTunes

 

MARTIN ON NEW YO-YO MA CD!

Last year Martin sat down with members of Yo-Yo Ma's Silk Road Ensemble and recorded a haunting version of "O'Neill's Cavalry March." The tune is the second track on Ma's new album Sing Me Home coming out April 22nd on Sony Masterworks. Other guest artists include Rhiannon Giddens, Bill Frizzell, Jazz vocalists Gregory Porter and Lisa Fischer, Abigail Washburn, and top musicians from around the world.

 

"The music [on] Sing Me Home demonstrates the power of curiosity, evolving tradition, and cultural exchange," says Yo-Yo Ma.

www.silkroadproject.org

NEW WEBSITES

Martin and Dennis have updated their sites! Visit martinhayes.com and denniscahill.com. The Gloaming are at thegloaming.net.

 

Management:  Elizabeth Roth/Roth Arts  www.rotharts.com

Publicity:  Judith Joiner  judithjoiner@gmail.com

"Notes from the Road" is a series of articles sourced from artist newsletters. If you publish a regular newsletter and would like to reach our audience with it, then contact us.

Views: 267

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of TradConnect to add comments!

Join TradConnect

© 2019   Created by Tradconnect Reviews.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service

The title of your home page You could put your verification ID in a comment Or, in its own meta tag Or, as one of your keywords Your content is here. The verification ID will NOT be detected if you put it here. .slick-track { display: flex!important; justify-content: center; align-items: center;/* Safari */ display: -webkit-flex!important; -webkit-justify-content:center; -webkit-align-items: center; }